Committee Name:	Coaches	Session #:	Report #:	
<b>Committee Chair:</b>	Bob Jennings	Vice Chair: Kenny Brisbin		
Minutes recorded by:	Bob Jennings	Date/time of meeting:	January 14, 2019	8.02pm

## **Motions Passed:**

Number of committee members present:17Absent:4Number of other delegates present:

**Committee members present (list all, including chair and vice chair):** Chair: Bob Jennings (Dixie), Ex-O Marianne Groening Ex-O Steve Hall Ex- Skip Thompson (Great Lakes), Scott Bay (Dixie), Chris Campbell (Oceana), David Clark (Great Lakes), Doug Fetchen (Dixie), Dean Hawks (Great Lakes), Terry Heggy (Breadbasket), Molly Hoover (Great Lakes), Christine Maki (Southwest), Chris McPherson (Dixie), Helen Naylor (Dixie), Kerry O'Brien (Oceana), Trey Taylor (Dixie), Tim Waud (Northwest),

Not present: Officio: Bill Brenner, Vice Chair: Kenny Brisbin (Southwest), Jeff Taylor (Southwest), Steve Weatherman (Dixie),

**Others present:** Jillian Wilkins

## Motion:

## Minutes

The meeting was called to order at 8:02 p.m. eastern

- 1. Welcome:
- 2. New Committee Members Steve Hall, Molly Hoover, Jeff Taylor, and Trey Taylor
- 3. **Marianne Groening** Two new classes have been added: Albuquerque, NM, Levels 1 & 2 on March 16 and Columbus, OH, Levels 1 & 2 on March 30. Both have minimum guarantees.
- 4. **Bob Jennings** Not everyone has sent in his or her committee request. Please send them in as soon as possible

5. **Subcommittee and Task Force Reports** – Summaries of each committee was provided Awards – Chris Campbell will be able to be on the Awards subcommittee. Deadline for the Kerry O'Brien Award and the USMS Coach of the Year Award will be July 1.

Education – Bob Jennings will appoint individuals to this subcommittee. The committee will map out the blended learning process.

Level 4 Applications- The application dates will be the same as last year. There will be one last look at the application this week before it is sent out to Marianne Groening.

Fitness – David Clark will Chair the subcommittee.

High Performance Camp Steve Weatherman will be our liaison for the camp.

LMSC Communications – Molly Hoover will work on the subcommittee. She will talk to Kenny Brisbin about what was done last year.

Mentor - Chris McPherson will Chair the subcommittee again. She has been talking to Bill Brenner and Marianne Groening. The committee will be working on funding, applications for mentees and mentors, and marketing.

On Deck Coaching - David Clark will be taking over the Chair

Open Water – Helen Naylor will be the liaison to the USMS Open Water committee. There will be an Open Water clinic hosted by the Long Distance Committee at the Open Water Championship in September.

Publications – Terry Heggy will Chair again. He will work with individuals that send in articles.

Web Workouts – Molly Hoover will take over the Chair.

2019 FINA World Championships – Tim Waud, Doug Fetchen, and Dean Hawks will be selecting the coaches/administrators. There have been 9 applications. The applicants will be whittled down to four. The subcommittee will then hold phone interviews to make their final selections. A website and Facebook page have been set up. Dawson Hughes has been sending information he has received from South Korea to Tim Waud. Communication with all USMS swimmers will be the key this year.

- 6. **Old Business** There was a discussion on when the presentation for the USMS Coach of the Year Award should be presented. It will be voted on at the February meeting.
  - Chris Campbell will ask Patty Miller about being the liaison to the R& A Committee.
- New Business Skip Thompson The will be a USMS Board meeting next month. There have been minor changes to the Fitness series
  The Coaches Committee will hold their meetings on the second Monday of each month, at 8pm (eastern)

The meeting was adjourned at 8:42 p.m. eastern