USMS Convention—Dearborn, Michigan 2006

Committee Name: Recognition & Awards

Session #: 1

Report #:

Minutes recorded by: Hugh Moore

Date/time of meeting: 9/14 2

9/14 2:30 p.m.

12

Proposed Expenditures

1. Appropriate up to \$150 per year beginning in 2006 for the Club of the Year Award

Action Items

1. **MSA:** The Recognition and Awards Committee encourages the recognition of USMS members, and the committee recommends that USMS clearly differentiate in official USMS publications between USMS recognized awards and awards given by outside organizations. (Tabled by Doug Garcia, called back by Mark Gill. Amended by Sally Dillon, Kelly Crandell and Lynn Hazlewoord. MSA by HOD.)

Committee Chair: Kelly Crandell

Vice Chair(s): Hill Carrow

Number of committee members present: 21 Absent: 13

Number of other delegates present: 13

Committee members present (list all, including chair and vice chair): Kelly Crandell, Hill Carrow, Hugh Moore, Carolyn Boak, Walt Reid, Jane Moore, Joan Smith, Richard Smith, Trisha Commons, Sally Dillon, Ted Haartz, Sandi Rousseau, Bill Tingley, Kathy Casey, Jack Buchannan, Betsy Durrant, Mike Laux, June Krauser, Mary Lee Watson, Nancy Ridout, Errol Graham

Minutes

The meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m.

- 1. Members of the Committee and audience introduced themselves.
- 2. Kelly congratulated Sally Dillon, this year's Ransom Arthur Award winner, and presented her with the award pin.
- 3. The selection process for the Club of the Year Award was discussed. The Selection Committee was composed of two members of the Recognition and Awards Committee, one member of the Fitness Committee, one member of the Coaches Committee, and the VP of Member Services. Eight nominations were received: Indy SwimFit, Florida Maverick Masters, Fort Lauderdale Aquatics Masters, Noblesville Adult Swim Team, North Whidbey Masters, O*H*I*O Masters Swim Club, UCLA Bruin Masters Swim Club, and Walnut Creek Masters. The recipient will be announced tomorrow and presented later to the winner locally. [Sandi Rousseau moved and Carolyn Boak seconded] MSA to appropriate up to \$150 per year beginning in 2006 for the Club of the Year Award. Kelly will submit an overbudget request for this year's award, if necessary.
- 4. The committee discussed concerns that USMS Swimmer magazine coverage of the United States Water Fitness Association Pioneer Awards received equal billing with ISHOF. Committee members feel that there should be a distinction of what organization presents the awards. [Mike Laux moved and Kathy Casey seconded. Carolyn Boak moved amendment and Bill Tingley seconded] MSA The Recognition and Awards Committee encourages the recognition of USMS members. However, we recommend that the USMS Editorial Committee clearly differentiate between USMS awards and awards given by outside organizations. To achieve this objective, the R&A Committee directs that any articles about awards to USMS members be reviewed for accuracy and content by the chair of the R&A Committee.
- 5. Hill will chair a subcommittee to review criteria for nominations for the ISHOF Contributor Category. Carolyn and Sally will also serve on the subcommittee. Following the criteria review, the whole committee will suggest nominations.
- 6. Kelly noted that some of the swimmer profiles on the website are missing.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:56 p.m.

Tasks for the Upcoming Year

- 1. The committee will review the selection process for the Club of the Year via email.
- 2. ISHOF Contributor Nominations will be compiled.
- 3. Committee members volunteered to update profiles as follows: Nancy Ridout Ross Wales, Betsy Durrant Harry Rawstrom, and Ted Haartz Enid Urich and Ed Reid.